BIS Adds the New State of the Republic of South Sudan

 On July 13, 2011, the Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) amended the Export Administration Regulations (EAR) adding controls on exports and reexports of U.S.-origin dual-use items to a new nation, the Republic of South Sudan. 

In January 2011, the region of Southern Sudan held a referendum to determine whether that region would remain part of Sudan or become a separate, independent nation. On February 7, 2011, the referendum commission announced that the region of Southern Sudan had voted to become a separate nation, effective July 9, 2011. 

On February 7, 2011, recognizing this development in the implementation of the Comprehensive Peace Agreement (CPA), President Obama announced the intention of the U.S. to formally recognize the Republic of South Sudan as a sovereign state in July, 2011. 

BIS amended the EAR to reflect the July 9, 2011 formal recognition by adding the new nation, the Republic of South Sudan, to the Commerce Country Chart. The new country is included in Country Group B, which will render the destination eligible for certain export and reexport License Exceptions. The controls that continue to apply to "Sudan" under the EAR will not apply to the Republic of South Sudan.

This rule is effective July 9, 2011.